Officially the Republic of Seychelles , is an island country and archipelagic state consisting of 115 islands in the Indian Ocean. Its capital and largest city, Victoria, east of mainland Africa. Nearby island countries and territories include the Comoros, Madagascar, Mauritius, and the French overseas departments of Mayotte and Réunion to the south; and Maldives and the Chagos Archipelago to the east. Seychelles is the smallest country in Africa as well as the least populated sovereign African country.